The girl in tight shoe

where thoughts twirls and waltz

The Deadly Social Site fever !

20120731-183225.jpg

We are enslaved by the Social sites monster, it seems. yes , Facebook , I mean you !!.It is an addiction and an infection. For as you see , we all got the social networking fever. And if you ask me , this is way worse than the gold fever back the eighteenth century.

We all started with a my space. Personally , I remember making an account there around the 8th grade. I was so happy I am a part of the social fever and I gave my URL to everyone to add me. I used to open my pc just to stare at the home page and see what others are doing.

But then the Facebook suddenly came out. I mean , no one knew at first what was that. But everyone ( and I really mean it when I said EVERYONE) joined and was pushing me to sign up. It somehow had became necessary to join. In a space of few weeks the my space was forgotten. I mean my space puufftt who needs that while you can write on walls and poke people.

20120731-194122.jpg

The aim of Facebook was to connect with people and make friends. Well , I guess that was it at first. Then it somehow mushroomed out of control. the fever turned to a deadly flu. What mattered is the numbers of friends you have and how many comments and statuses you post. About the same time , creating a page of your own feature was new. This gave people even more reason to be more competent and pushy. Advertisement about pages flew. Most of those were useless. Copies and copies of same thing.

I felt stuffed and strangled. I post a funny status , I get harsh replies saying how I could be so vain and senseless of great matters. I go and post serious or political status ,the replies change to why so serious. I hated the Facebook so much but yet I couldn’t deactivate. It always pulls me back to have a look or see a notification.

I Deliberated for weeks on end on when to deactivated it. My brain kept on throwing many reason to stop it and just leave the torture. But my addiction kept me from taking that decision. Finally I did it. I deactivated my account on Facebook. How proud I was of myself.

I deleted the bookmark and tried to bite my hands every time I type the Facebook.com. Only two days passed , when the phone calls and texts started on where have I disappeared off the face of earth. Apparently, being told no result for this name on the Facebook search is quite a huge disaster. Then the real tortured started. For i was cornered with all sort of pressure to go back. I resisted for a bit. Finally and inevitably , I gave in. I admitted defeat and I reactivated my account. Day after day, I just see my notifications and see others updates while I post nothing. Eventually I lost the urge to write and became a distant observer.

Twitter I guess saved me from a worse fate. I made an account there as a getaway from “The Facebook Monster”. Tweeting was and still is so much fun. I tweet what i see and what I feel. I may have not many followers or I am not one of those “twitter gods but my followers are an active bunch and I love everyone of them. Still people ain’t satisfied and I get this snide comments “oh you only has this much followers , look I have much much more”.

Somehow , networking has become a race. Now it is all about how many followers or how many likes you get. While actually likes and the such is good , I mean we all feel happy that someone likes what we have to say. Yet , it is not the main aim of all this.

Somehow I wonder is it only me feeling this way ?!. Am I being a prude maybe ?!. Or is it really the social sites are being misused by most people!!?.

Before starting to lose yourself and objective in the race of who is more popular , remember the main reason you started using the social sites. Check those objectives regularly , those sites are great opportunities many of us are misusing.

The girl in tight shoe.

20120731-215753.jpg

8 comments on “The Deadly Social Site fever !

  1. Little Brown Tomato
    August 1, 2012

    I agree.

  2. good2begone
    August 2, 2012

    Exactly the reason why I scaled back on my social site addiction. I got real stuff to do. Great post, thanks!

    • fatma in tight shoe
      August 2, 2012

      You are really welcome and yeah , great job that you cut back on social sites they are mostly a pain.

  3. HummingsOfTheMind
    August 6, 2012

    I love your view on social networking, I have found this to be such an insightful observation! As if growing up isn’t difficult enough without social sites to add to the pressures of adolescence!

    • fatma in tight shoe
      August 8, 2012

      Exactly , it is a huge pressure that weigh the shoulder and people around don’t exactly make it less worse. Thanks for commenting , your views are always welcome. πŸ˜€

  4. Maryam
    August 7, 2012

    Salam! Absolutely agree.
    That last pic totally cracked me up…lol! πŸ˜€
    Good work!

Leave a Reply

