The girl in tight shoe

where thoughts twirls and waltz

Spread The ”Books Disease” !!!

I am a read-holic. Yes , you read that right, read-holic. If you give me a book , warm comfy bed and a steaming cup of hot chocolate , i probably would not move an inch till i finish the whole book. I got addicted to books from the time my grandpa used to get me a new book everyday and challenge me to finish the whole thing in one day. That gave me all the motivation to start reading. Now, i am the proud owner of a bookcase full of books that is too much to count.

But here’s is the thing , i am the only one among my friends that has this fascination with books. It seems that everyone is more into movies and video-games nowadays. According to a poll made by Associated Press-Ipsos , 1 in 4 people read no books. Yup , that mean 25% of adults has read zero books. Actually, the same poll reveals the average adult reads only four books per year. Half of those people read less than four. 

I can hear some of you already thinking ” why would anyone care about reading or not , we have more important things to do” . I ll tell you why you should care , because reading is an active mental process. The moment you open a book and start reading , your mind fire up automatically. How ?! , like a balloon , you are blowing air into it so it expand and becomes lighter and easier to handle. In the case of your brain , info does that to it. Reading does not only affect the learning part of the brain , studies shown it also has an advantageous effect on the hearing , memory and speech parts.

The reading is not just a leisure non-business activity.Reading actually sharpen your skills and help you build  new vocabulary, which is a neccesity in the business world now. It help in strengthening your self-esteem and confidence as you know more and so people would always come to you for answers and advises. While reading might seems boring but actually it helps in awkward conversations as it can give you something to talk about. And you never know how a single book might change you life in ways you never know !!

While reading is a very cheap and entertaining way to spend time , yet many many people find it boring and dull. But since i have the ”books disease” , I want to spread it around. Here is what i call a push to the road of the reading pleasures.

Don’t judge a book by its cover. While this might sound corny , yet it is true. Some of the best books have the dullest cover. I know you could not possibly know if it is interesting or not blindly , so here is the secret , in the back of every book there is a summary about what is inside. Read it , if it appeal to you , then buy it.

Find what you like. Books are like music , you need to find the perfect genre that match your personality. Some like historical books while others go for the romantic. You need something to really pulls you inside the story and hold you in its web until you are tangled completely. Most of us will be having an idea of what is interesting , but if you don’t leaf through each category quickly until you find your match.

While you are tweeting and facebooking , search online for new books and read its reviews. Good books have good reviews which indicate that it is worth your time.

Get comfy.You dont want to start reading while you are at work or after a fight with your wife. Find a relaxing place , a piece of your favorite dessert (makes reading even more sweeter) and start with your readings.

Now that i hope i had convinced you to start with the reading , i give you a last advice. Read , read and read even more. After all, a book is cheaper than a movie ticket and lasts much longer.

The girl in tight shoe.

20 comments on “Spread The ”Books Disease” !!!

  1. cebeckysworld
    July 11, 2012

    The books disease I have had it longer than I can remember 🙂 don’t forget to mention its contagious!!

    • fatma in tight shoe
      July 11, 2012

      Yes , it indeed is contagious , be proud that you have that disease many wish for it 😀

  2. Zen
    July 11, 2012

    Even though books should be judged by their blurbs, I think the covers play an important part in catching your attention. A book may have a fantastic plot, yes, but if there’s no eye-catching cover on it, I might likely not even register its presence. But I never buy a book just because of the cover. xD

    Also.. definitely agree about getting comfy. You can’t enjoy a book otherwise!

    • fatma in tight shoe
      July 11, 2012

      Thank you for agreeing with me 😀
      And Yes , it does have a hugh part in attracting people but why buy a book for 20$ because its cover is catchy , while you can get the same without cover for 7$ , right ?!.My point is it is important bs not strictly neccesary.

  3. Potentially Adventurous
    July 11, 2012

    I love to read too! My (full) wooden bookcase is proof of that. Those statistics are incredibly low. Hopefully, people will be more inclined to pick up a book, electronic or otherwise, in the future.

    • fatma in tight shoe
      July 11, 2012

      High 5 , people who read are always the best 😀
      And yeah , hopefully that will happen soon , we should encourage every one to be like us and start reading 😀

  4. 최다해 gongjumonica
    July 12, 2012

    I can say that I am a read-holic, too! It’s as if I have a never-ending thirst for books and knowledge. I hope that more people will be able to have the time and interest to read.

  5. Mennah M
    July 12, 2012

    Reblogged this on prayersofadreamer and commented:
    Spread it 😀

  6. RisingSun
    July 12, 2012

    You are not the only one dude .. I got that disease too 😀

  7. quantumtheory
    July 12, 2012

    I never used to read books. But my mom was an avid reader and I always used to wonder how she could read 600 pages filled with just words. It used to seem boring. And then my 10th grade vacations came, I was bored, and decided to read a novel. From then on, there’s been no stopping me. I’m proud to say that I’m a book fanatic. \m/

    • fatma in tight shoe
      July 12, 2012

      high 5 to another book fanatic 😀
      you should thank your mum for giving you the push to read 🙂

  8. celiahunko
    July 12, 2012

    Oh man! I have this — like really bad! 🙂 Great post!

  9. pacer26
    July 13, 2012

    Well I’m sorry to say the book disease is incurable or should I say I haven’t find a cure upto now…. Not that I want one although I have to admit I’ve had to gravitate to a kindle as my home has become over run by books not only mine my nine year old daughters too…. But the lure of the book is still strong n can distract me from other chores…. But while I’ve been seriously ill has kept me sane losing myself for hours in someone else’s dramas or someone else’s happy ending…. Enjoy the disease don’t fight it it won’t hurt not like a drug or drink addiction it’s healthy enjoy

    • fatma in tight shoe
      July 14, 2012

      exactly , it is one disease we all should get at least once in our lives. parents who start their children on the road of reading should get a medal or something , certainly you deserve one. 🙂

  10. tryingtowriteit
    July 17, 2012

    Yup, I’ll stand up and tell everyone too. I am a readholic but what’s worse a genre tart too. I read literally everything. Nice post.

  11. perspectiveandwords
    July 17, 2012

    I really enjoyed your post… I can relate to it. For me reading is a therapy. Sometimes we wish things were different in our lives and I have found that the only way to escape my reality is through books. For a couple of ours I am another person, I am in another world, and by the time I’m done with the book I have a different perspective in live and a different pack of emotions. Right now I’m reading “Atonement”, which I’m absolutely loving. Please feel free to recommend me some books (I read anything that gets in my way).

  12. perspectiveandwords
    July 17, 2012

    Reblogged this on perspectiveandwords and commented:
    I very much agree with this post I found this morning (from thegirlinthightshoe) and I had to reblog. I share the same fascination for books and would like to spread it. I you love to read to please feel free to recommend books of any kind.

Leave a Reply

