The girl in tight shoe

where thoughts twirls and waltz

Mum , Just Five More Minutes Please !!

I always had this love-hate relationship to video games.  Yes , you heard it right , video-games. Some of you now are raising their eye brows and wondering how this girl can hate such thing as a video game. Well here is the answer , i was never convinced it was worth the time and money spent on them. My brother , who is a big fan of them , tried once to interest me to play but in vain. “i wont budge on my hatred” i said, and i was really fascinated how my brother can stay playing the same games for hours and hours on end.

But then one day i was totally home alone and the TV has nothing new to see , so out of complete boredom , i headed to his room and took the controller of the PS ( playstation) in my hands and started playing some game about cars and money.

I WAS SHOCKED HOW SATISFIED I AM BY THE GAME. I mean i stayed there for 3 or 4 hours shifting from a level to another , while feeling so proud of myself that i can actually play. This was the start that lead to me finally understanding the love of those games.

My mother used to always watch us play and say you are getting addicted to those games. Honestly i used to laugh and say “‘ADDICTION ! TO VIDEO GAMES !! PPFFTT YOU GOTTA BE KIDDING ME MUM!” . And thou i hate to admit it , mum was right ,i noticed that video games are changing my schedule and habit , that it is starting to eat big chunks of time and i realized it is probably time to stop.  And since science is my forte , i made this small research about the effect of video games on us , here’s what i found….

The brain produce hormones such as serotonin , dopamin  , in a controlled quantities , to give you the sensation of being happy . So, the video games target those cells in the brain and induce to produce more and more of those hormones , thus you feel good while playing. But as more are produced , the more your brain ask for more ,so the addiction start.

I can hear some of you are saying “HUH , english please !! ” . In a nut shell , video-games , like drugs , make the brain produce happiness hormones which in turn makes you feel happy that you can play and win. But as you play more , the balance of those hormones shift and make you wanting for more and more , which you satisfy by playing more. Thus making yourself even more of an addict while symptoms like becoming anti-social and not having a life outside those games start to rear its ugly head.

I admit i still play video-games and i am so proud of myself for some high scores but putting a lid on the kettle is point here. The only solution is to take a mature decision to cut back the time spent on those games and filling the time you have by going out and socializing.

Easy said than done but i remind you of a line we all forget “if you got a will , you got a way” . Just take a step and the rest is easy.

The girl in tight shoe.

5 comments on “Mum , Just Five More Minutes Please !!

  1. ethanclevenger
    July 3, 2012

    There are lots of things that release such hormones in our brains, however. Sex, for instance, a perfectly healthy human function. Long-distance running eventually releases similar pain-killing and euphoria-inducing hormones.

    All in moderation I say. Video games can be perfectly healthy. Beneficial in fact. We all need some stress relief from time-to-time.

    • fatma in tight shoe
      July 3, 2012

      i agree and i said that i still do play them maybe 5 days a week for an hour before sleep or so. The point here is there’s some people who play for 10 or 12 hours a day , those are in danger !!. As you say , moderation is needed.

      • ethanclevenger
        July 3, 2012

        I talked to a guy who played WoW 12 hours a day, 6 days a week for quite some time to get a Grand Marshall achievement. He’s since had to swear off Blizzard games.

  2. sabchap
    July 5, 2012

    I can relate to you how you have a love-hate relationship with video games. For me, it’s not because I feel accomplished for playing and beating games, but because I like the challenge. The only thing I hate about games nowadays is that is way too time consuming. It’s normal for me to spend 100+ hours on games. But really, gaming is not totally bad for you. I enjoyed it like how some people enjoyed sports, cooking, soap opera etc. Also most games took me at least three months to complete because I have other things to do. My point is–I don’t think gaming is an addiction. I hate games nowadays because it requires a chunk of my time, which I don’t have. And you know maybe I am in denial, but I highly doubt I will ever quit.

  3. ronaldagak
    July 6, 2012

    Reblogged this on Ronald Agak.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2012 by in Addiction, happiness, help, lifestyle, Long reads, random, video-games and tagged , , , , , , .
